Theresa May’s departure from the leadership of the Conservative party to be set after June’s Brexit vote

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Theresa May will set out the timetable for her departure following one final attempt to get her Brexit deal passed by MPs. Sir Graham Brady, chairman of the 1922 Committee of backbench Tory MPs, said he will meet Mrs May to agree the details of her exit from Downing Street early next month.

This will come after a showdown vote on the Withdrawal Agreement Bill, which enshrines the PM’s Brexit plan into UK law, in the week beginning 3 June.

Another member of the 1922 Committee told the Guardian that May understood she would have to name a quick date for her departure if the withdrawal bill is voted down, with a leadership contest before the summer.

The MP said some Brexit supporters on the committee were disappointed that the prime minister was not forced to announce her departure immediately but this represented a “fair compromise”.

Meanwhile Brexit talks between Theresa May’s ruling Conservative Party and the main opposition, Labour, have taken a hit after Labour said they will not back May’s plan on June 3 unless they strike a deal, Euronews reports.

The Conservatives and Labour are trying to break the deadlock after May’s Brexit deal was thrice rejected by the UK parliament earlier this year.

The report adds that May’s government is refusing to grant Labour’s main demand for a permanent customs union, Labour’s shadow business secretary Rebecca Long-Bailey, told the BBC on Thursday. She also warned that putting the deal back before parliament before agreeing with Labour on it would be a ”dangerous” idea.

This comes as May faces pressure to resign from backbenchers. She is set to meet the executive of her party’s influential 1922 Committee later today. The committee has demanded she set out a clear timetable for her departure in the event her deal is rejected again. If she refuses, some want to change the rules over when she can be ousted.

Meanwhile, Boris Johnson has said he will run for leader once Mrs May goes.

Sky News / The Telegraph  Euronews BBC / The Guardian

%d bloggers like this: