Seven eastern EU member states set to oppose asylum seekers relocation mechanism

epa08278285 Migrants and refugees walk near by the Greek border with their belongings and pets near Pazarkule border gate in Edirne, Turkey, 08 March 2020. Some 10,000 migrants, mostly from Syria, have reached Turkey's land borders with EU states Greece and Bulgaria with the intention of crossing into the European Union. EPA-EFE/TOLGA BOZOGLU

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Seven eastern EU member states are opposing the possibility of the EU creating a mechanism to relocate asylum seekers between countries.

In a letter to the European Commission, the interior ministers of Hungary, Poland Slovakia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia and Slovenia, declared that they would not accept any compulsory relocation of migrants.

Notes from Poland, quotes the country’s interior minister saying that the decision was driven by “common sense” rather than xenophobia, arguing that the Polish government could not “consent” to “any social or cultural experiments imposed on us”, adding that the Polish government will “not consent” to the “cultural experiment” of relocating “illegal immigrants”.

“I want to assure all Polish citizens that the Polish government clearly and strongly opposes any relocation of illegal immigrants in our country,” added Kamiński, quoted by state broadcaster TVP. “This is a clear, unambiguous and non-negotiable position.”

He said that previous waves of migration of “culturally and socially unrelated” people into western Europe had caused “tragic consequences, social conflicts, racial and religious conflicts”.

CD eNews Agency via Wirtualna Polska / Notes from Poland / EU Observer / TVP

%d bloggers like this: