EU, US and Canada announce new sanctions against Russia

Reading Time: < 1 minute

EU, US and Canada announced new sanctions targeting individuals and companies. The penalties come in response to Russia’s actions in the Kerch Strait, the detention of Ukrainian sailors and the annexation of Crimea.

DW reports that the EU sanctions target eight senior Russian security personnel and military officers responsible for detaining three Ukrainian vessels in disputed waters off the coast of Crimea, which Russia illegally annexed in 2014. Twenty-four Ukrainian sailors were taken into custody when the ships were fired upon and then seized on November 25, 2018. They are still in Russian detention.

Canada imposed sanctions on 15 entities and 114 individuals. A statement released by Canadian Foreign Minister Chrystia Freeland read: “Canada and its allies are unwavering in our support for Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity. Russia’s provocations in the Kerch Strait and its illegal and ongoing occupation of Crimea will not go unchecked.”

The United States announced that it would impose sanctions on four members of Russia’s FSB security services as well as six defense companies active in Crimea, “several of which misappropriated Ukrainian state assets to provide services to the Russian military” during the annexation of Crimea.

via DW 

%d bloggers like this: