Croatia takes over EU presidency

Reading Time: < 1 minute


Croatia first-ever presidency of the European Union will start from 1 January 2020, for a six month period.

Joining in 2013, Croatia is the most recent EU member state. The country succeeds Finland, and will therefore begin its presidency when Brexit should become effective in late January.

Zagreb will take over the rotating EU presidency at the very beginning of the term of the new European Commission, led by German Ursula von der Leyen for whose appointment credit also goes to Croatian Prime Minister Andrej Plenković, who, as one of the European People’s Party (EPP) negotiators, insisted that the position of EC President should go to the EPP as the winner of the May 2019 elections for the European Parliament.

The stakes are high, both for Croatia and for the EU. Croatian ministers will moderate the meetings with their European counterparts.

Click here for the priorities of the Croatian Presidency

The Croatian Presidency will also have to deal with the negotiations on the European multi-annual budget 2021-2027.

The importance of those talks are significant as the EU will have to define which budgets will be available in the coming years, in particular for the agricultural policy and the ‘cohesion fund’.

Read more via Total Croatia News/ Gov. Croatia

%d bloggers like this: